Simulation Center AHRQ grant award to advance research in performance assessment

David J. Murray, MD and Walter Boyle, MD, faculty members in the Department of Anesthesiology, were awarded an Agency for Health Quality and Research (AHRQ) grant entitled Critical Care Management: A Simulation-Based Assessment of Decision-Making Skills.Murray is the principal investigator of the three-year project that will provide a simulation methodology to assess critical care skills and develop proficiency standards for intensive care decision-making. The team of intensive care specialists, health care educators and simulation experts from Washington University who will join both Murray and Boyle include Mary Beth Beyatte RN MSN, Brad Freeman, MD, and Julie Woodhouse, RN, M Ed. The three-year project extends the simulation center research teams continuous extramural research funding to more than a decade. The previous awards include grants from AHRQ, FAER (Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research) and APSF (Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation) to fund simulation education and performance assessment research at the the Simulation Centers at Washington University.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *